Skip to content

A Promise of Gardens, by Diego Corry

September 27, 2009
by

In July I went to Salt Spring Island. My family stayed in my aunt’s log cabin. We stayed for about three weeks. The last time we went she SANY0208didn’t have a garden, but this time she did! I felt like I was in paradise. So vibrant with red and green and pink and orange, the nasturtiums looked like they had every colour of the rainbow. She grew potatoes and green beans, tomatoes and cucumber, lettuce and parsley, nasturtiums and carrots. We would pick them fresh each day to eat. Every evening I would have a treasure hunt for potatoes and then water the garden. We went to the lake every day. There was a buoy in the middle of the lake; I swam to it and back seven times. I loved it. Fresh. Clean. Magical. When it was late sometimes we would go to my uncle Chuck’s field to pick blackberries. Once we filled three big buckets with them. We made jams and pies, and ate them for breakfast each day.

We had great times this summer. But soon we won’t be able to do all of those things because of global warming. I want the governments of the countries to negotiate strong international policy and to stand by their promises. I want the Copenhagen conference to be real. I know we can do it!

By Diego Corry, Age 10

Photo by Pablo Corry

2 Comments leave one →
  1. djkuva permalink
    September 28, 2009 10:48 pm

    sounds truly amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. Bridge to a Cool Planet Announces The Winners of its Writing Contest! « Bridge to a Cool Planet

Leave a Reply

